Square Enix and Dontnod Entertainment’s episodic, narrative driven adventure game, Life Is Strange’s first episode, Chrysalis will be made available for free.

To celebrate the announcement, SE released a new trailer:

This first episode gives us “an introduction to the general mechanics of the game, and although Life is Strange emphasizes story and choice over puzzles, you will also see an evolution over the next episodes in terms of how you need to combine different types of interactions and rewinds.”

Life Is Strange is a five part episodic game that sets out to revolutionise story based choice and consequence games by allowing the player to rewind time and affect the past, present and future.

You are Max, a photography senior who saves her old friend Chloe by discovering she can rewind time. The pair soon find themselves exposed to the darker side of Arcadia Bay as they uncover the disturbing truth behind the sudden disappearance of a fellow student.

Meanwhile, Max begins to have premonitions as she struggles to understand the implications of her power. She must quickly learn that changing the past can sometimes lead to a devastating future.

Key Features:

  • A beautifully written modern adventure game.
  • Rewind time to change the course of events.
  • Multiple endings depending on the choices you make.
  • Striking, hand-painted visuals.
  • Distinct, licensed indie soundtrack.

Life is Strange Ep1 will be available to download for free across PC, Mac, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, starting July 21.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 Will Be Free Indefinitely 1
Life Is Strange: Episode 1 Will Be Free Indefinitely 2


Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, subscribe to our YouTube channel, or add us to your circle on Google+ to keep yourself updated on all the latest news around the web.

Pin It on Pinterest